13 0

FILE PHOTO: The exterior of the U.S. Department of Justice headquarters building in Washington, U.S., July 14, 2009. REUTERS/Jonathan Ernst/File Photo. WASHINGTON/NEW YORK (Reuters) - The United States Justice Department singled out four cities and a county on Thursday for allegedly having so-called “sanctuary policies” that may violate a federal law which requires them to communicate with federal immigration officials about a person’s citizenship status. The department said Thursday that New Orleans, New York City, Philadelphia, and Cook County in Illinois along with its largest city Chicago, “have preliminarily been found” to have policies that violate the law. It is giving those jur... Full story

12 October