2 0

Voters will head to the polls later for the European Parliament elections. Seventy-three members, known as MEPs, will be elected in nine constituencies in England, and one each in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Each region has a different number of representatives based on its population - ranging from three MEPs in the North East and Northern Ireland to 10 MEPs in the South East. Polling stations in the UK are open from 07:00 until 22:00 BST. Results will not be announced until all EU nations have voted over the next three days - with the whole process completed by 22:00 BST on Sunday 26 May. UK'S 12 MEP REGIONS. CONSTITUENCY. MEP NUMBERS. East Midlands. 5. East of England. 7. London. 8. North East Full story

22 May